Home » Uncategorized » Turkey Tetrazzini NaBloPoMoW8Lo Style

Turkey Tetrazzini NaBloPoMoW8Lo Style

I like to cook.  But I HATE thinking about it. I should just make a list of 2 weeks worth of meals and rotate through them.  I’ll add that to my to-do list right after lose 30 pounds and clean out my garage.

In the meantime, each day at about 4pm I start to think about what I am going to feed the maniacs and panic.  I probably open and shut the fridge 100 times and walk in and out of the pantry just as many in an effort to figure out what remotely health meal I can present at dinner time.

When I opened the fridge at 4pm today, I saw we had some left over turkey from last nights potluck.  Which only meant one thing…. Turkey Tetrazzini was on the menu for dinner tonight.   Due to the NaBloPoMoW8Lo, I needed to make a low cal version.  Which I did and I have to say I did it quite well……even my picky eaters had seconds.  Of course, I am not a test kitchen and I have no idea what the actual calorie count is on this recipe but I have to believe that since I used low fat everything it has to be better than a regular version.  If you do end up giving this recipe a go, let me know what you think.

Turkey Tetrazzini – NaBloPoMoW8Lo Style

  • 1 box spaghetti
  • chopped up leftover turkey – i used approx 2-3 cups
  • 2 tablespoons dry sherry
  • 1/2 bag frozen green peas
  • 3/4 cup low fat milk
  • 2/3 cup fat-free sour cream
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 can reduced-fat cream of chicken soup (I bet cream of mushroom would work too)
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted

Cook the pasta according to the package directions.  While the pasta is cooking, mix together in a large bowl the sherry, milk, sour cream, Parmesan, and soup.  Once it’s all blended, add the peas and turkey.  Spray 9 X 13 pan with cooking spray.  When pasta is done and drained, add that to the other stuff.  Spread in the pan.  Melt the butter in the microwave and then mix in the breadcrumbs.  Put the buttered breadcrumbs on the top and then bake it all in a 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.  YUM!

I made so much we will be eating this all week.  Now, I don’t have to think about dinnertime for days.

smiley-face-clip-art_413110

P.S. NaBloPoMoW8Lo challenge….I don’t want to talk about it.  Let’s just say the potluck rocked but I will be making up for it the rest of the week.  And that’s all I have to say about that.

Leave a Reply

