Home » Uncategorized » NaBloPoMoW8Lo?

NaBloPoMoW8Lo?

Day Two of the Challenge, I’m ready to go

Want to join me in NaBloPoMoW8Lo?

As I mentioned yesterday, I have a problem when challenged.  I dig my heels in.  Failure is not an option.  I sing a really nice hippy, dippy, non-competitive game but the truth of the matter is, I am extremely competitive.  It is why I can’t coach my youngest daughters softball team despite playing softball for years.  You may be a sweet-faced, enthusiastic five-year old, but if you don’t know that the bases run counter-clockwise, you can just sit your happy ass on the bench.

One year, I finished the Avon walk with a bad knee and blisters the size of golf balls on my heels.  Each step felt like a knife was stabbing me directly under the knee cap.  The First Aid tent volunteers suggested I cut my walk short after lancing my gargantuan, bloody blisters.  Did I listen?  I did not.  With feet wrapped in gauze, limping like Quasimodo, I walked the remaining 13 frickin miles of the 29 mile course and crossed the finish line.  It was not pretty.  It is not something I ever want to do again.  But I can’t say I regret doing it.  I will go to my grave knowing that I walked the whole damn thing….and that makes me happy…slightly warped…but happy.

avonwalk

(Don’t I look happy?)

I have been pretty fortunate in that I have always been able to accomplish what I set my mind to…except when it comes to weight loss.  I have been dieting my entire life.  In fact, I can’t remember a time that I wasn’t on some sort of diet.  Atkins, Weight Watchers, Paleo, Blood type…you name it, I’ve tried it and failed.  Even when I was thin, I thought I was fat and dieted regularly.  WTF??

Yesterday morning, after powering through handfuls of mini Twixes while carefully puffing up the bowls of Halloween candy so my children wouldn’t discover I had raided their stash, I had a brilliant idea.  What if I added a weight loss component to the NaBloPoMo?  I could still write about whatever I want, just add a sentence or two at the end of each post, a footnote of sorts, where I could track my progress/failure…(failure not actually being an option).  Genius, right?

Without further ado, I present to you ……the NaBloPoMoW8Lo Challenge!

The challenge is to lose 10 pounds in the next 29 days while blogging daily.

What do you think?  Do you want to do NaBloPoMoW8Lo with me?  I’d love company…plus then when I beat you, I can rub your nose in it….

4 thoughts on “NaBloPoMoW8Lo?

  1. Thanks Sam! I re-set MyFitnessPal so I am starting at zero…you’ve already lapped me 110 times! Hopefully, I can up my competitive mindset and get my ass in gear.

Leave a Reply

